By Using this site, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.


Taylor Hackford is an Academy Award-winning director. He won an Academy Award in 1979 in the category of Best Live Action Short Film for Teenage Father (1978). Hackford has directed such iconic features as Ray (2004), which received two Academy Awards (Best Leading Actor, Best Sound Mixing) and was nominated for four others (Best Director, Best Picture, Best Film Editing and Best Costume Design); An Officer and a Gentleman (1982), which won two Academy Awards (Best Supporting Actor and Best Song) and garnered four other nominations (Best Leading Actress, Best Screenplay, Best Editing and Best Film Score); Against All Odds (1984), which was nominated for one Academy Award for Best Song; and The Devil’s Advocate (1997).

He has served two terms as president of the Directors Guild of America.

In 2009, Hackford developed the musical Louis & Keely Live at the Sahara. His stage directorial debut received rave reviews and has since had multiple engagements in Chicago and at the Geffen Playhouse in Los Angeles.

Hackford most recently directed Robert De Niro in The Comedian (2016), a film about the life of an aging insult comic. He also produced the film.

His feature documentary work is equally acclaimed, with Chuck Berry: Hail!, Hail! Rock n’ Roll (1987), and the Oscar-winning When We Were Kings (1986), a behind-the-scenes look at the legendary 1974 bout between Muhammad Ali and George Foreman dubbed “The Rumble in the Jungle,” which won for Best Documentary Feature.

Hackford is also the director/producer behind the cult thriller Dolores Claiborne (1995), White Nights (1985), Everybody’s All-American (1988), Blood In, Blood Out (1993), Proof of Life (2000) and Love Ranch (2010) starring Academy Award winners Helen Mirren and Joe Pesci. In addition, he developed and produced La Bamba (1987), the most successful Latin-themed feature film in history.

He has served as producer or executive producer on many other films, including The Long Walk Home (1990), Mortal Thoughts (1991), Defenseless (1991), Sweet Talker (1991), Rooftops (1989) and others.

Download Now!